International
Programs and Services
Cordelia Camp Bldg. 109
69 East Univ. Way 
Cullowhee, NC   28723
TEL: (828) 227-7494
FAX: (828) 227-7080

email: international@wcu.edu


CURRENT IPS and IEP STAFF & FACULTY


Ling Gao LeBeau
Director of International 
Programs and Service
(828) 227-3433
lglebeau@wcu.edu

______________________

Dana Moore
DSO/ARO
(828) 227-2557
dnmoore@wcu.edu

_______________________

Josie Bewsey
Study Abroad
Student Services Specialist
(828) 227-2569
jbewsey@wcu.edu


Betty Dishman
Administrative Assistant
(828) 227-3440
bdishman@wcu.edu

 _______________________

Study Abroad Advisor

(position open)


International Student Advisor

Margaret Basehart

mzbasehart@wcu.edu

(828)227-2567

______________________

INTENSIVE  ENGLISH PROGRAM:

Jill Cargile
Director of the IEP
(828) 227-3458
jscargile@wcu.edu
 
Ashlea Green
Lead IEP Instructor
amgreen@wcu.edu
 
Jordan Parsons
IEP Instructor
jlparsons@wcu.edu
 
Jana Williams
IEP Instructor
gcwilliams@wcu.edu
 
Jenn Gemma
IEP Instructor
jlgemma@wcu.edu
 
Judy Geringer
IEP Instructor
jsgeringer@wcu.edu
 
Hilary Lindler
Administrative Assistant
(828) 227-4933
hlindler@wcu.edu

 

 

 

 

IPS Staff

Jill Cargile Jill Cargile is the Director of the Intensive English Program. Prior to coming to WCU in 2013, she served as the Director of Special Programs and a faculty member at the University of Oregon where she developed grant-funded programs for international scholars and language teachers. Jill's major areas of work and research in the United States and for 20 years internationally in Egypt (The American Univ in Cairo), Turkey (Nat'l Coordinator of US Dept of State's English Language Fellows), Japan (Int'l Univ of Japan) and Kuwait (AMIDEAST) have focused on: program development and administration; teaching and assessment of academic writing and Business Communication; freshman composition; curriculum development for EAP and executive training programs; cross-cultural communication; and teacher training, development and evaluation. She received an MA in Applied Linguistics from Georgia State University in Atlanta. She speaks and reads, to varying degrees, French, Turkish, and Arabic. Jill serves on the Board of Directors for the Consortium for Women Leaders in Public Service, a US/Peruvian non-profit organization that provides leadership training and mentoring to women in North and South America.​

Hilary Lindler is the Student Advisor for the Intensive English Program. She has lived in Cullowhee for over a decade, and attended Western Carolina University as both an undergraduate and a graduate student.  When she was an undergraduate, Hilary studied abroad in Rennes, France through WCU’s International Programs and Services Office (IPS).  Before becoming the IEP student advisor, she volunteered with IPS for over seven years. email: hlindler@wcu.edu​

Josie Bewsey is the Study Abroad Coordinator/Student Services Specialist. She has been a member of the IPS staff for almost 9 years and has been an WCU employee going on 25 years. Josie enjoys shopping, “thrifting”, decorating  and planning parties/weddings/events. She also enjoys tailgating and attending WCU football games! GO CATS! As a Purdue University graduate, she loves keeping up the Boilermaker’s as well. Josie’s husband, Jeff (Director of Auxiliary Services) and youngest son, Kellen (Athletics) also work at WCU. Oldest son, Kyle lives in Mississippi. 

Margaret Basehart Margaret Zettergren Basehart is originally from north  Mississippi and has been working at WCU for two years. She recently joined the IPS office in September of 2014.  She has traveled abroad several times but her favorite place to visit is Scotland.  She has a Master’s degree in Higher Education from the University of Louisville and has enjoyed making a career out of working with college students.  She currently lives in Cullowhee with her husband and two cats.  An interesting fact about Marg is that she has ran two Ultra Relays in the past year, each time her total mileage equaled over 30 miles!

Betty Dishman has served as office manager at International Programs & Services since November 2012 and has been a WCU employee for 15 years, having also worked in the Mountain Resource Center, and the Department of Communication, Theatre & Dance. Betty also has experience as an AmeriCorps VISTA Volunteer and a news journalist. She lives in Sylva with her son Aaron and enjoys travel, hiking, reading and personal growth activities.

 

Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services