CDTA Policies

CDTA Policies

Eligibility for Award

1. Candidates must hold faculty status at the rank of instructor or above and be in at least her/his third year of teaching at WCU.

2. Faculty members who have won the award are ineligible for 5 years.

Nature of the Award

1. $2,000 cash award and plaque, presented at Spring General Faculty Meeting and Awards Convocation.

2. Recognition at Spring Commencement as a member of the platform party.

3. Other means of recognizing and honoring recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award may be provided by the Faculty Commons as opportunities arise.

The Selection Committee

1. The Selection Committee shall be made up of six faculty and three students: one faculty member each of the six academic colleges, appointed by the respective dean; including the previous year's faculty Chair of the committee; and one additional student shall be appointed by the Dean of the Honor’s College and the Dean of the Graduate School. One additional undergraduate student-at-large will be appointed by the dean of the respective academic college, according to the rotation below.  

The Chancellor’s Office asks the deans to identify faculty for this committee in May or June each year. During the fall semester, after the early registration period for students and after faculty members set committee meeting times for the spring semester, the Chancellor’s Office asks deans to appoint students who will be able to meet at the designated times during the spring term.

The Chancellor shall appoint one of the four faculty members to serve as Chair of the committee. The previous year's chair shall not be eligible to serve a second term as chair.

2. All faculty members on the selection committee must be in their firfth year of full-time service or above at the time of nomination to the committee.

3. The Coulter Faculty Commons will provide secretarial and logistical support for the committee. The Faculty Commons Director shall be an ex officio, non-voting member of the committee and shall be responsible for:
(a) initiating the award process each fall,
(b) providing support services to the committee as needed,
(c) serving as the committee liaison with the Chancellor's Office, and
(d) conducting a review of the process each year with the committee and making any recommendations for change to the Chancellor.

4. A letter of committee appointment shall be sent by the Chancellor.

5. Committee members shall serve for no more than a two-year period. Consideration should be given to faculty members who have shown special interest in teaching. Deans should not appoint the previous year's recipient of the Distinguished Teaching Award.

Faculty members and the student-at-large shall be appointed on the following rotation:
Even years: Arts & Sciences, Business, Kimmel School (as vacancies occur)
Odd years: Education & Allied Professions, Fine and Performing Arts, Health and Human Sciences (as vacancies occur)

5. If a committee member emerges as a finalist for the award (as defined in Committee Procedures), that committee member shall resign from the selection committee and be replaced by someone from the same college appointed by the appropriate dean. 



Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services