Grants and Awards

Grants and Awards

The CFC coordinates the monthly awarding of the Professional Development Grant program for providing funds for faculty and instructional staff to pursue professional development opportunities.

The Commons also coordinates the process for the selection of awards connected with teaching excellence: Board of Governors' Award, Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award, Last Lecture, SoTL Scholar, O. Max Gardner, and the Jay M. Robinson Teaching Award for eLearning.



Professional Development Grants

Due to a large number of outstanding proposals, the submission window for Professional Development Grants has closed.
New Professional Development Grants may be proposed beginning during the Fall Semester, 2015
Established in 2012, the grants support the strategic mission of WCU by providing funds for faculty and instructional staff to pursue professional development opportunities in areas such as teaching and learning, scholarship, leadership, certification, accreditation, assessment, and other related areas. This program replaces and expands upon two former grant programs: Microgrants and Provost Instructional Improvement Grants. 

Maximum Award: $1,200.



Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching
The Board of Governors' Award for Excellence in Teaching at Western Carolina University includes earned tenure and employment at Western Carolina for at least seven years; demonstrated excellence in teaching for a sustained period; teaching in the academic year selected; and can only receive the Board of Governors' Award once in his/her lifetime. Award Amount: $12,500 per year.

Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award
The Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award encourages, recognizes, and rewards superior teaching and meritorious performance. Teaching faculty in their third year of service at WCU are eligible for nomination if they have not received this award in the preceding five years. The award amount is $2,000 per year and is given out annually.

Excellence in Teaching Liberal Studies Award
This award recognizes a faculty member for excellence in promoting significant student learning in teaching liberal studies courses on a regular basis. This award is coordinated by the office of the Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies at ext.7495.

Last Lecture Award

The Coulter Faculty Commons sponsors WCU's annual Last Lecture Award and Lecture Series which recognizes professors who teach with passion and enthusiasm. The Last Lecture Award is the only WCU award for which the winner is chosen by solely by students.

Innovation Scholar Award
This award encourages and recognizes a faculty member who produced exemplary types of scholarship outside of the scholarship of discovery, including integration, engagement, and teaching and learning. The award is open to any full-time faculty member or faculty team who has taught at Western Carolina University for at least one year.

O. Max Gardner Award
This annual award is given to a UNC system faculty member who has "made the greatest contributions to the welfare of the human race." It is considered the UNC system's highest faculty award and includes a $10,000 cash prize.


Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services