2015 Information Brochure

 2014 Golfers

Brad Bradshaw
Jackie Adkins
Bob Council
Jerry Ranson
Ken Flynt
Ned Mabe
Steve Carswell
Jim Stockson
Harry Allman
R. Coggins
D. Ensley
Greg Rawls
J. Tench
Benjy Davey
Justin Goforth
Clark Bunting
B. Robinson
G. Gibson
Z. Cooper
Lumpy Lambert
R. Foster
D. Wilkins
C. Foster
J. Foster
B. Murphy
S. Stafford
J. Carnes
S. Broom
T. Hayes
J. English
G. Cogan
J. Perry
Jim Seagraves
J. Hicks
B. Biddix
P. Kitchens
Charlie Grubb
J. Corbett
C. McDonell
T. Maddock
D. Van Zee
 J. Lambert
J. Hudson
Norman West
E. Ingle
J. Green
J. Wood
L. Anderson
S. Warren
D. Howell
K. Hughes
A. Howell
C. Laney
E. Blackmore
W. Blackwood
C. Turner
Rick Woollen
R. Roland
C. Roland
R. Conley
P. Walker
T. Roberts
S. Connor
J. Godsell
M. Williams
J. Gloyne
H. Gloyne
H. Markham
T. Wall
Mickey Pettus
J. Pettus
M. Tedder
J. Tedder


104 Forsyth
Cullowhee, NC 28723
828.227.7412 tel
828.227.7075 fax


College of Business Golf Classic: Opportunity for Fun, Networking, and Scholarship Support

Rockbarn 2014

17th Annual Golf Classic draws record-breaking crowd

The 17th Annual College of Business Golf Classic was a smashing success, eclipsing all previous participation and fund-raising records. Eighty-eight alumni, faculty, students and friends turned out at Rock Barn Golf and Spa in Conover for the competition on August 23. Including volunteers and guests at Friday’s dinner and Saturday’s events, almost 140 folks were on the grounds to enjoy food, golf and lots of camaraderie.

The tournament’s presenting sponsors were Harrah’s Casino and Wells Fargo Bank.  Major sponsors included SE Logo Wear (Charlie Grubb ’99), Edward Jones (Michael McLamb '12), and Serrus Capital Partners. Other event sponsors included Highland Brewing Company (Kitty Price’ MBA ’11), Biltmore Wine and Stanberry Insurance (Kevin Stanberry ’94). Hole sponsors were Tom and Bonnie Broadwater ’62, Katelyn Price ’10, Dennis and Sheila Zink ’71, Steve Henson, Dan Killian, Patrick Killian and Rick Woolen ’69. Closest to the Pin sponsor was Katelyn Price ’10. Flag sponsors were the Hospitality and Tourism faculty, WCU soccer alumni, Katelyn Price ’10, Clifton Lambreth ’82, Charles Lambreth ’82, the Accounting, Finance, Information Systems & Economics Department, Dennis and Sheila Zink ’71, Theta Xi, Hannah Dickey ’14, Jeff Lovett ’99, Dr. Jamie Lopez, Art Byrd ’49, Bobby Byrd ’74, Whitney Byrd ’08, Jonathan Jorstad ’97, Tim Martin ’75, Serrus Capital Partners, John Horne ’73, Piedmont Pharmaceuticals, SE Logo Wear and the SBTDC. We are so grateful for all of these generous supporters who continue to sustain all we do at the College of Business.

The festivities began on Friday night at Rock Barn, where the alumni reception and dinner under the tent gave all a chance to enjoy a buffet with a multitude of great food and desserts, listen to the sounds of Vic Wheeler and The Gruv Dawgs, visit old friends and make new connections. Late morning on Saturday, everyone gathered for a hearty Southern-style lunch of salads, corn on the cob, fried chicken and mouth-watering apple cobbler before heading out on the links.

Tee-off was at 1 p.m., with 22 teams competing for several prizes. Under a somewhat hot and humid sky, players were energized by the challenging Jones course. Temperatures measured in the 90s, but our fun-loving, competitive crowd persevered.

In addition to typical opportunities to use mulligans and red tees, we added a “Rent-a-Cat” option to allow for everyone’s score improvement. This feature enabled teams to rent either Catamount golf team member J.T. Poston or Greg Bunner at the very difficult par five 14th hole. With 300 yards drives and pinpoint second shots, several teams boosted their scores to birdies and even a few eagles.

At the end of a highly competitive and challenging test, and a few beverages to combat the heat, winners were announced. At the championship first-place level we had winners Brad Bradshaw ’76, Jackie Adkins ’79, Bob Council, and Jerry Ransom ’77. Championship second-place winners were Ken Flynt ’71, Ned Mabe ’72, Steve Carswell, and Jim Stockton. At the first-flight level, first-place winners were Harry Allman ‘89, Rodney Coggins, David Ensley ‘91, and Greg Rawls. And finishing up in second place were teammates John Tench, Benjy Davey '10, Justin Goforth and Clark Bunting ’73. Congratulations and a huge thank you to all from the WCU College of Business.

In addition to all of the players, there were many student and staff volunteers in attendance that “made it happen.” We could not have pulled off such a huge undertaking without all of their time and energy! Cheers to faculty and staff volunteers Jennifer (The Ramrod) Williams, Vittal Anantamula, Paul and Amy Johnson, Jim Deconinck, Dan Killian, Ed Lopez, Bob Mulligan, Grace Allen and Dean Darrell Parker.

Student volunteers were Alex Wright, Heather Adkins, Brandon Chestnut, Samantha Bryson, Marissa Schwartz, Julian Jones, Ben Thomas, Sara Robinson, Robbie Kernodle, Kimille Miller, Edward Cain, Bri Preston, Hailey Little, Phillip Christian, Matt Nicholson, Robert McCampbell, Kelton Lastein, Corey Hart, Patrick Killian, Katie Stanley, Robert Warnock, Ashley Willis and Hank Hodge.

Thank you all!



Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services