Strategic Plan Subcommittee Reports

In January and February of 2012, the 2020 Commission engaged a series of subcommittees structured around each of the proposed strategic directions.  The subcommittees were charged with developing a set of strategic goals and initiatives that are designed to advance each of the six strategic directions. 

Enrich the Total Student Experience (PDF)

Fulfill the Educational Needs of the State and Region (PDF)

Enhance Our Community Partnerships (PDF)

Invest in Our People (PDF)

Garner Support for Our Vision (PDF)

Invest in Our Core Resources (PDF)


Roster of 2020 Commission Subcommittees

(Note:  Names marked with an asterisk are also members of the 2020 Commission.)

Fulfill the Educational Needs of our State and Region:
Chair: Dr. Mimi Fenton – Professor, English*
Dr. Chandrika Balasubramanian, Associate Professor, English
Dr. Carroll Brown, Assistant Professor, Hospitality and Tourism
Dr. Louis Buck, Interim Dean, College of Business
Ms. Sarah Burkhardt, President, Graduate Student Association *
Mr. Phil Cauley, Director, Admissions
Dr. Susan Fouts, Director, Continuing Education
Dr. Kate Greysen, Associate Dean, Graduate School
Dr. Jennifer Hinton, Associate Professor, Recreational Therapy
Dr. Dave Kinner, Assistant Professor, Geosciences and Natural Resources
Dr. Mark Lord, Interim Associate Provost
Dr. Mike Murray, Superintendent, Jackson County Public Schools*
Dr. Will Peebles, Professor and Director, School of Music
Dr. Don Tomas, President, Southwestern Community College*
Dr. David Tyler, Assistant Professor, Sport Management*
Dr. Wes Stone, Associate Professor, Engineering Technology*
Dr. David Westling, Adelaide Worth Daniels Distinguished Professor, Special Education
Dr. Tracy Zontek, Associate Professor, Environmental Health

Invest in Our People:
Co-Chair: Mr. Jason Lavigne – President, WCU Staff Senate
Co-Chair: Dr. Vicki Szabo, Associate Professor, History

Ms. Kathy Abbott-Beam, Board of Directors, WCU Foundation*
Ms. Anne Aldrich, Executive Assistant, Office of the Provost
Dr. Lance Alexis, Director, Disability Services*
Ms. Tonya Basse, Advisor, Advising Center
Dr. Jo Blaylock, Vice President for Human Resources and External Relations, Harrah’s Casino Cherokee
Dr. Debra Burke, Associate Dean, College of Business
Mr. Robert Edwards, Vice Chancellor, Administration and Finance*
Dr. Dave Evanoff, Assistant Professor, Chemistry
Dr. Judy Neubrander, Associate Professor and Interim Department Head, School of Nursing*
Dr. Jane Nichols, Associate Professor, School of Art and Design
Dr. Lisen Roberts, Associate Professor, Human Services
Dr. Cheryl Waters-Tormey, Associate Professor, Geosciences and Natural Resources
Ms. Donna Welch, Executive Assistant, Student Affairs*
Ms. Kathy Wong, Director, Human Resources*
Dr. Laura Wright, Associate Professor, English
Dr. Bill Yang, Assistant Professor, Engineering Technology

Enhance Our Community Partnerships:
Chair: Dr. Chris Cooper, Associate Professor and Interim Department Head, Political Science
Mr. Larry Arbaugh, Associate Director, WCU Athletics*
Dr. Pete Bates, Associate Professor and Interim Department Head, Geosciences and Natural Resources
Dr. Lisa Briggs, Associate Professor, Criminology and Criminal Justice
Ms. Wendy Cagle, Director, Small Business and Technology Development Center
Ms. Denise Drury, Interim Director, WCU Fine Arts Museum
Dr. Jane Eastman, Associate Professor, Anthropology & Sociology
Dr. Betty Farmer, Professor, Communication
Dr. Chip Ferguson, Associate Professor and Interim Department Head, Engineering & Technology
Dr. Bruce Frazier, Carol Grotnes Belk Endowed Chair, School of Music*
Ms. Sarah Graham, Regional Planner, Southwestern NC Planning and Economic Development Commission
Dr. Connie Haire, Board of Director, Advantage West*
Ms. Janice Holt, Director, Teacher Recruitment, Advising, and Career Support
Ms. Patsy Miller, Director, WCU Programs in Asheville
Dr. Hollye Moss, Associate Professor, Global Management and Strategy
Mr. Charlie Myers, Associate Director, Cherokee Preservation Foundation*
Dr. Maurice Phipps, Professor, Parks and Recreation Management
Dr. Linda Stanford, Dean, College of Health and Human Sciences
Ms. Suzanne Stone, Owner, Rolling Stone Burrito

Enrich the Total Student Experience:
Chair, Mr. Keith Corzine – Director, Residential Living
Ms. Jane Adams-Dunford, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs
Dr. Risto Atanasov, Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Ms. Roseanna Belt, Director, Cherokee Center
Mr. Gorham Bradley, Director of Catamount Club, WCU Athletics
Dr. Brian Byrd, Assistant Professor, Environmental Health
Mr. TJ Eaves, President, Student Government Association*
Dr. George Ford, Assistant Professor, Construction Management
Ms. Lisa Frady, Advisor, Advising Center
Dr. Regis Gilman, Interim Dean, Educational Outreach
Dr. Windy Gordon, Assistant Professor, Psychology
Dr. Leah Hampton, Associate Director, Writing and Learning Commons*
Dr. Glenda Hensley, Director, First Year Experiences
Mr. Jeff Hughes, Director, A.K. Hinds University Center
Dr. Gary Jones, Associate Professor, Business Administration
Mr. Kenny Messer, Past-President, Catamount Club Board*
Dr. Niall Michelsen, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Dr. Lois Petrovich-Mwaniki, Director, International Programs
Dr. Brian Railsback, Dean, Honors College
Ms. Paige Roberson, Director, Downtown Sylva Association
Mr. Scott Swartzentruber, Director, Networking Services
Ms. Alessia Zanin-Yost, Associate Professor, Hunter Library*

Invest in Our Core Resources:
Chair:  Dr. Anna McFadden – Academic Engagement & IT Governance
Mr. Fred Alexander, District Manager, Duke Energy
Ms. Lauren Bishop, Energy Manager, Facilities Management
Mr. Shea Browning, Associate General Counsel, WCU Legal Counsel
Mr. Craig Fowler, CIO*
Mr. Larry Hammer, University Registrar
Ms. Alison Joseph, Applications and Research Analyst, Institutional Planning & Effectiveness
Mr. Larry Kernea, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Tri-County Community College*
Dr. Bill Kwochka, Associate Professor, Chemistry & Physics
Mr. Steve Lillard, Assistant Chief, University Police*
Dr. David McCord, Professor and Department Head, Psychology*
Dr. Bill Perry, Professor, Computer Information Systems
Mr. Mike Poore, President/CEO, MedWest Health System*
Dr. John Sherlock, Associate Professor, Human Resources
Mr. Joe Walker, Associate Vice Chancellor, Facilities Management*
Ms. Nancy Wike, Accountant, Administration and Finance
Dr. John Williams, Professor, Anthropology

Garner Support for Our Vision:
Chair: Dr. Bill Ogletree – Professor and Department Head, Communication Sciences and Disorders
Dr. Carol Burton, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Undergraduate Studies*
Dr. Russ Curtis, Associate Professor, Human Services
Mr. Ken Flynt, Associate Dean, College of Business
Dr. Roger Hartley, Associate Professor, Political Science
Mr. Jerry Kiser, Former Member, WCU Board of Trustees*
Mr. Ron Leatherwood, Former Member, UNC Board of Governors*
Ms. Dianne Lynch, Chief of Staff*
Mr. Clifton Metcalf, Vice Chancellor, Advancement and External Affairs*
Mr. Jim Miller, Associate Vice Chancellor, Development*
Dr. Sam Miller, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs*
Dr. Lynda Parlett, Associate Dean, Graduate School and Research
Mr. Marty Ramsey, Director, Alumni Affairs
Dr. Dana Sally, Dean, Hunter Library*
Mr. Bill Studenc, Director, News Services*
Mr. Chuck Wooten, Jackson County Manager
Dr. James Zhang, Interim Dean, Kimmel School of Construction Management & Technology


Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services