August 22, 1973


Catamount Room, A. K. Hinds University Center           August 22, 1973

The Board of Trustees of Carolina University met for an organizational meeting at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday August 22, 1973, in Hinds University Center. Members present were: Jack E. Abbott
Orville D. Coward
Robert L. Edwards
John H. Glenn
John H. Gloyne
Jack M. Hennessee
Hazen Ledford
Thomas L. Mallonee
Clyde M. Norton
Mrs. W. Boyd Owen
Richard B. Wynne

Members absent were Hugh F. Gentry and Harold R. Rogers. Others present were:

Frank H. Brown Jr.
Jack K. Carlton
Mrs. Jack K. Carlton
Doyle M. Dillard
Bill McEntire
Clifford Lovin
A. Douglas Reed
Ruth C. Shuler
John W. Slater
Glenn W. Stillion
J. Baxter Wood
J. Stuart Wilson

Judge Lacy H. Thornburg and Dr. Kennedy were special guests.

Mr. Abbott, serving as temporary chairman, requested Judge Thornburg to administer the oath of office to the Trustees. The following oath was sworn to and subscribed by each Trustee present:

I, (name of trustee), do solemnly swear that I will support and maintain the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution and laws of North Carolina not inconsistent therewith, and that I will faithfully discharge the duties of my office as a member of the Board of Trustees of Western Carolina University.

Further, I do solemnly and sincerely swear that: I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to the State of North Carolina, and to the constitutional powers and authorities which are or may be established for the government thereof; and that I will endeavor to support maintain, and defend the Constitution of said State, not inconsistent with the Constitution of the United States, to the best my knowledge and ability; so help me God.

Mr. Abbott then announced that the bylaws provide for election of officers at the first meeting of the Board after June 30 of each year and for the past chairman to preside until new officers are elected. He then declared the Board in executive session for the election of officers. Open Meeting Act

At the conclusion of the executive session, new officers presented were Mr. James H. Glenn, Chairman; Mr. Jack Hennessee, Vice-Chairman; and Mrs. W. Boyd Owen, Secretary. Mr. Glenn expressed his appreciation for the confidence placed in him and pledged to work for the benefit of the University.

Dr. Carlton then introduced Mrs. Carlton and the faculty and staff members present to the Trustees. He presented the second draft of the revised bylaws to the trustees for their consideration and adoption at a later meeting.

Mr. Glenn requested that a year's schedule of meetings be established and be available to the trustees as soon as possible.

There was no other business to be considered, and the meeting was adjourned for campus tours and lunch

Respectfully submitted,

James H. Glenn, Chairman

Helen B. Owen, Secretary








Copyright by Western Carolina University      •      Cullowhee, NC 28723      •      828.227.7211      •      Contact WCU
Maintained by the Office of Web Services      •      Directions      •      Campus Map      •      Emergency Information      •      Text-Only

Office of Web Services